OH! San Diego 2020 Photo Contest Winners Announced

We again received more than 200 entries in our Open House San Diego (OH! San Diego) photo competition. Thank you for your submissions! We hope you enjoyed OH! San Diego 2020 and the opportunities it provides to celebrate San Diego’s built environment through photography.

Our judges selected first- and second-place winners in Interior, Exterior and Detail categories, as well as a student winner. Congratulations to all of the winners!

Interior Category

First Place: Kurt Kiel (image below of the Eckart Building at Scripps Institution of Oceanography)


Second Place: Jeff Ferguson (image below of the Old Director’s House at Scripps Institution of Oceanography)


Exterior Category

First Place: David Weiner (image below of Scripps Institution of Oceanography)


Second Place: John Muller (image below of Balboa Park Recital Hall)


Detail Category

First Place: Michael Booth (image below of a light fixture at Shayan House in Bankers Hill)


Second Place:  Adrienne Hulme (image below of a fan at Morning Glory)


Student Winner

Elena Hall (image below of Balboa Park’s California Tower and the domed roof of the Museum of Man)

Thanks to:

Photo competition organizer: David Harrison of Harrison Photographic

Photo competition judge: Mike Savacool, co-founder and chief strategic officer at Less+More, a San Diego-based creative agency.

Prize sponsors: Nelson Photo, Warwick’s Books

Contact Us

San Diego Architectural Foundation



P.O. Box 122228
San Diego, CA 92112-2228
Federal Tax ID: 95-3513927

Sign Up

Stay on top of your Architectural news

San Diego Architectural Foundation is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization dedicated to education and promotion of outstanding architecture, planning and urban design throughout the San Diego region.

Get in the Mix