Program

OH! San Diego 2019
Celebrating architecture, urban design & the built environment
One weekend. Free access. Iconic architecture. The doors are open for you to explore.

POINT LOMA

Situated on a peninsula with breathtaking views of San Diego Bay and the Pacific Ocean, Point Loma reflects many rich and deep histories: a close-knit Portuguese community; Juan Rodriguez Cabrillo’s famous 1542 landing site; America’s Cup Harbor and yacht clubs; Marine Corps Recruit Depot, the former Naval Training Center, now Liberty Station; Fort Rosecrans; the Naval Base; and the world-famous Cabrillo National Monument.
_____________________________________________________________________________________

71 ALL SOULS’ EPISCOPAL CHURCH
1475 Catalina Boulevard
Robert Mosher, 1969

The sanctuary is a wonderful example of mid-century modern church architecture. Its hexagonal plan, sweeping protective roof, magnificent pipe organ, and finely crafted wood interior celebrates worship, community, art, and a kinship with nature. An exquisite stained glass window by renowned artist James Hubbell illuminates the space with magical, spiritual light. The church is currently embarking on a re-imagining of the campus to better serve the community.

___________________________
SAT 10AM – 4PM / SUN 1PM – 4PM / Self–guided tour / Architect-led tour SAT at 11AM & 12:30PM

_____________________________________________________________________________________

72 POINT LOMA HERVEY BRANCH LIBRARY | OH! SAN DIEGO HUB
3701 Voltaire Street
Conwell Shonkwiler & Associates, 2003

The library’s design follows a nautical theme, with its faux ship’s hull, wave-like roof form and a periscope that allows patrons to view the surrounding community from within the building. At night, up-lighting makes it glow, creating a beacon for the neighborhood reminiscent of the region’s most notable landmark, the Point Loma Lighthouse.

___________________________
SAT 10AM – 4PM / SUN 10AM – 4PM / Self–guided tour / Architect-led tour SAT every 30 min from 10AM – 2PM

Kids Activity: Point Loma High School Robotics Team Demonstration SAT 10AM – 2PM

_____________________________________________________________________________________

73 JENNINGS HOUSE CAFE
1018 Rosecrans Street
Unknown, 1886

The Jennings House was built by Sheriff Frank Jennings and his wife, Inez. The home is thought to have at one time included a single-cell jail for the small Point Loma Community – not a far trek for Sheriff Jennings! The simple frame house has been maintained as a local gathering place and coffeehouse for over 20 years. The architecture is complemented by period photography throughout, capturing Point Loma in the late 1800s and early 1900s. Crown molding, glass doorknobs and vintage furnishings add the finishing touches.

___________________________
SAT & SUN 10AM – 4PM / Self–guided tour

_____________________________________________________________________________________

74 POINT LOMA NAZARENE UNIVERSITY
3900 Lomaland Drive
Multiple Architects

Before serving as the Point Loma Nazarene University campus, this site was the location of a Theosophical commune run by Katherine Tingley, known as ‘Lomaland’. The campus on a bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean is one of the Top 20 Most Beautiful College Campuses in the U.S. Its mix of architectural styles include historic buildings from the Theosophical era, the first Greek Theater in the U.S., mid-century classics by campus architect Richard Lareau and innovative, energy efficient, modern masterpieces. Visit the campus and explore the buildings below among many others.

 

MIERAS HALL
1901
One of the most striking buildings remaining from the Theosophical Society era, it was once home to Albert G. Spalding, the sporting goods tycoon. The central octagonal-shaped room has a dome crowned with a six foot tall amethyst-colored glass bulb and decorative carved wooden elements throughout. The exterior features a covered porch and unique spiral staircase.

 

 

LYLE AND GRACE PRESCOTT MEMORIAL PRAYER CHAPEL
Carrier Johnson + CULTURE and Tecture, 2018
Simple lines and pure forms embody the true essence of a chapel’s purpose—a spiritual anchor for the campus. The entry plays with scale, compressing and then opening up to enhance the progression from exterior to interior. The tall and narrow interior volume of the sanctuary is expressed in textured concrete, wood and glass. Overhead, a light filigree of native wood hangs in the space, filtering natural daylight and evoking Christ’s crown of thorns. The number three, symbolic of the Holy Trinity, is evoked throughout the design, such as in the three prayer niches that radiate from the main space.

 

LATTER HALL & SATOR HALL
Carrier Johnson + CULTURE, 2015
The 32,900-square-foot Science Center has iconic curved stainless-steel screens, laser cut with Alpha and Omega symbols. Ethereal sunlight floods into the building which contains teaching labs and lecture rooms. A rooftop terrace provides expansive views of the Pacific Ocean.

 

___________________________
SAT  10AM – 2PM / Self-guided tour / Check in at TBA
Guided tour at 10:30AM, 11:30AM & 12:30PM / Meet at Latter Hall & Sator Hall

_____________________________________________________________________________________

75 PORTUGUESE HISTORICAL CENTER
2831 Avenida de Portugal

In 1977, the late Basilio Freitas and others founded this historic center to preserve the culture, heritage, language and folklore of the Portuguese community for future generations. The Center hosts a collection of genealogical information, photos and artifacts from the community’s rich history, and archives the many accomplishments of Portuguese leaders and organizations, both locally and worldwide. Members also maintain the Tunaman’s Memorial on Shelter Island.

___________________________
SAT 10AM – 1PM / Self–guided tour

_____________________________________________________________________________________

76 ST. AGNES CATHOLIC CHURCH
1140 Evergreen Street

The history of this church is tied to the Portuguese immigrants who first settled here in 1883 to work in the fishing industry. The church was originally built by men of the parish in 1908. In 1933, the crews from 15 boats each pledged 25 cents per ton of fish to build a new church, a Mediterranean-style structure with a bell tower containing an illuminated statue of Our Lady of Good Voyage, who guided the fishermen back to the bay. The church is adorned with beautiful stained glass windows imported from Ireland and many life size statues from Italy.

___________________________
SAT 10AM – 1PM / Self–guided tour

_____________________________________________________________________________________

77 ARTS DISTRICT LIBERTY STATION | OH! SAN DIEGO HUB
2640 Historic Decatur Road

San Diego’s largest Arts & Cultural District is located in the historic buildings of the former Naval Training Center, where from 1923 to 1997, nearly two million young men—and eventually women—were trained. The Art’s District’s restored 45 buildings are home to nearly 145 tenants including museums, galleries, artist studios, dance companies and non-profit organizations that showcase San Diego’s creative community. The principal influence on the design of the original structures was architect Bertram G. Goodhue, who designed many buildings for the military, in addition to his work in Balboa Park for the 1915 exposition. Goodhue created a simplified Spanish Colonial Revival style with Pueblo influences that was very plain and unadorned and which was realized throughout NTC by the Navy Public Works Office. Buildings included in the guided tour include those listed below, among others.

BUILDING 175 / DOROTHEA LAUB DANCE PLACE
2650 Truxtun Road
Navy Public Works, 1941

This former Navy School building, where recruits learned how to make torpedoes, is now home to three of San Diego’s leading professional dance companies and schools.

 

 

BUILDING 200 / DICK LAUB NTC COMMAND CENTER
2640 Historic Decatur Road
Navy Public Works, 1942

This distinctive building with a pointed cupola above the vestibule lobby, is set back from the street within gardens and palm groves. The former mahogany paneled Commanders’ offices are now community meeting rooms. The hallways are lined with historic exhibits and art from current Art’s District artists.

 

 

BUILDING 35 / THE LUCE AUDITORIUM / THE LOT
2620 Truxtun Road
Navy Public Works, 1941 

Navy recruits saw training films here and enjoyed the latest Hollywood offerings, along with Point Loma residents. Bob Hope and other celebrities did radio broadcasts from its stage. It is fitting that the historic Art Deco building has been rehabilitated to serve as a modern cinema, complete with a new glass-enclosed cafe/ bar.

___________________________
SAT & SUN 10AM – 4PM / Self–guided tour / Start at Dick Laub NTC Command Center
Guided walking tours SAT at 1PM / Reservation required

_____________________________________________________________________________________

78 STONE BREWING WORLD BISTRO & GARDENS
2816 Historic Decatur Road
David Robinson Design, 2013

This former mess hall has been re-purposed as a brewery and restaurant, but hasn’t forgotten its roots. The main dining hall retains the original architecture with its tall, exposed wood ceilings and introduces an industrial and organic mix of metal, stone, concrete, and reclaimed wood. At over 20,000 square feet, the space features multiple dining areas and a 10-barrel brewery. Outside, the equally
expansive garden space includes water and fire features.

___________________________
SAT & SUN 10AM – 4PM / Self–guided tour

____________________________________________________________________________________

79 SIM BRUCE AND JANET RICHARDS RESIDENCE III
955 Bangor Street
Sim Bruce Richards, 1957

Designed by Frank Lloyd Wright apprentice, Sim Bruce Richards, for his family, this home is sited on a steep hillside. The mid-century architecture features a palette of natural materials, a flowing floorplan, unique siting, and one-of-a-kind fireplace designs. Purchased from the Richards family in 2017, the home now showcases the new owners’ vast collection of post-war pieces by San Diego artists and craftsmen, such as John Baldessari, Margaret Loring, John Dirks, James Hubbell and Jackson Woolley.

___________________________
SAT & SUN 1PM – 4PM / Self–guided tour / Owner available to answer questions

_____________________________________________________________________________________

80 THE MILLER HULL PARTNERSHIP
4980 North Harbor Drive
Miller Hull Partnership, 2009

In October 2018, Miller Hull moved its architecture studio into this vibrant waterfront complex that they had previously designed. The firm has a strong commitment to ecological design and, like their Seattle studio, this space was designed with the intent to become certified with the Living Building Challenge, which asks the question – “What if every single act of design and construction made the world a better place?” The net-zero energy studio is aided by a rooftop PV array and retrofitted with operable windows to take advantage of the cool marine air and reduce energy loads. The interior is finished with healthy, sustainable materials and is filled with daylight and beautiful views of the harbor.

___________________________
SAT 10AM – 4PM / Self–guided tour / Guided tour every 30 min

_______________________________________________________________________________

81 ULLMAN SAILS
2805 Canon Street, 2nd Floor

In 1967, 21-year-old competitive sailor, David Ullman, founded the company with a single sewing machine, making sails for Lido 14 and Sabot class boats. Over fifty years later, the San Diego “Loft,” as full-service sail maker locations are called, is one of 77 Ullman lofts located world-wide. The company provides sails for Olympian sailors and world-class teams for many Cup races and National Championships. The large, open space was remodeled in 2007, adding sewing pits to the Loft, allowing use of the floor as a table to facilitate working with larger sails.

___________________________
SAT & SUN 10AM – 4PM / Self–guided tour / Access via stairs only

_______________________________________________________________________________

82 BALI HAI
2230 Shelter Island Drive
Raymond Frazer, 1953 / Graham Downes, 2010

There has been a tiki bar in this location on Shelter Island since 1953. When Tom Ham, now a well-known San Diego restauranteur, took over a year later, he rechristened it Bali Hai, after the mythical forbidden isle from the book, which became the 1949 musical, South Pacific. The Bali Hai has maintained its iconic tiki style, which is complemented by new design features added under the direction of the late, renowned San Diego architect, Graham Downes. The original woodwork – 15 types of rare, exotic wood – was restored to its original natural beauty. A sculptural wood façade, outdoor dining deck and free-standing event pavilion with breathtaking bay views, were added. To accommodate boaters, the dock was retrofitted, making it the largest ‘Dock & Dine’ dock on the Bay. The Ham family continues to operate the Bali Hai, still one of the region’s most famous tiki ‘temples’. Look for the iconic “Goof on the Roof” and “Mr. Bali Hai” sculptures.

___________________________
SAT 10AM – 1PM / Self–guided tour / Guided tour at 10AM & 11:30AM

_______________________________________________________________________________

83 POINT LOMA ASSEMBLY
3035 Talbot Street
John B. Stannard, 1915

Founded in 1911, this bungalow-style community center has served many purposes – civic meetings, art exhibits, social functions—and was a Red Cross Distribution Center during World War I and II. Today, it remains a vibrant gathering place, hosting meetings, plays, weddings, and church services. A vintage car, period outfits, historic photos and music of its original era will be on display.

___________________________
SAT 10AM – 4PM / Self–guided tour

_____________________________________________________________________________________

84 UPSES CHAPEL
2818 Avenida de Portugal
Built 1922

The style of chapels on the island of Terceira, Azores, is replicated in this almost century-old chapel. The interior follows the tradition of small chapels that devout fishermen constructed in their tuna vessels from the 1920’s. Today, the Chapel is used to house the Crown of the Holy Spirit during the Festa do Espirito Santo celebrations. On Pentecost Sunday, devotees of the Holy Spirit visit the Chapel to pray and offer a donation of money, or Portuguese sweetbread to assure the continuation of this time-honored ethnic religious celebration.

___________________________
SAT 10AM – 1PM / Self–guided tour

_______________________________________________________________________________

85 Cancelled

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Upcoming Events

03/23
10am - 4pm
OH! San Diego 2019
Learn More

Contact Us

San Diego Architectural Foundation

Phone
619.232.1385

Email
info@sdarchitecture.org

Address
P.O. Box 122228
San Diego, CA 92112-2228
Federal Tax ID: 95-3513927

Sign Up

Stay on top of your Architectural news

About
San Diego Architectural Foundation is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization dedicated to education and promotion of outstanding architecture, planning and urban design throughout the San Diego region.

Get in the Mix