Program

OH! San Diego 2019
Celebrating architecture, urban design & the built environment
One weekend. Free access. Iconic architecture. The doors are open for you to explore.

LA JOLLA

Founded in 1887 and home to Ellen Browning Scripps, who built her house on the ocean side of Prospect Street, “The Jewel” has become an educational and cultural epicenter anchored by Scripps Institution of Oceanography, the La Valencia Hotel, La Jolla Playhouse, University of California San Diego, the Salk Institute, and Birch Aquarium. Visitors come from around the world to visit sea lions at Children’s Pool, stroll Prospect street’s shops and restaurants, hike Torrey Pines State Beach, explore tidepools and sea caves, and swim, surf and sunbathe at iconic beaches.

_____________________________________________________________________________________

86 ATHENAEUM MUSIC & ARTS LIBRARY
1008 Wall Street
William Templeton Johnson, 1921 / William Lumpkins, 1957 / David Singer, 2006

The Spanish Revival-style building is home to this non-profit membership library, dedicated to the study of music and art. It is one of only seventeen such libraries in the country. The site is comprised of three historic buildings, joined together to create a cohesive space. It features stylized arched windows and classical columns at the front portico and an iconic rotunda, which houses the music room. Eminent La Jollan and philanthropist, Ellen Browning Scripps, was the first president of the organization, which was founded in 1899. As the oldest cultural institution in La Jolla and one of the oldest in San Diego, the Athenaeum today is a vibrant cultural center, presenting exhibits, concerts, lectures and art classes.

___________________________
SAT & SUN 10AM – 4PM / Self–guided tour / Guided tour every 30 min

_____________________________________________________________________________________

87 GRANDE COLONIAL HOTEL 
910 Prospect Street
Richard Requa, 1913 / Thomas L. Shepherd, 1925 / Frank Stevenson, 1928

The Colonial Apartments and Hotel, as it was originally known, is La Jolla’s oldest hotel. The main four story, concrete hotel, boasting the first fire sprinkler system west of the Mississippi, was built in 1928. During construction, the original wood-framed structure on the site by architect Richard Requa, was moved to the rear of the property where it still operates as part of the hotel. Putnam’s La Jolla Drugstore and Soda Fountain was located there for many years and was managed by actor Gregory Peck’s father. Today, the property includes two designated historic landmarks – The Little Hotel by the Sea, by architect Thomas Shepherd, and the Garden Terraces.

___________________________
SAT & SUN 10AM – 4PM / Guided tour every 30 min / Reservation required / SATURDAY TOURS / SUNDAY TOURS

_____________________________________________________________________________________

87 DAN MCKINNEY YMCA 
8355 Cliffridge Avenue
Built, 1967 / Golba Architecture, 2018

Dan McKinney, a longtime La Jolla resident, and the facility’s namesake, generously donated to the expansion of the 50+ year-old YMCA. 25,000 square feet was added and the property now includes two new swimming pools, a splash pad for water play, a three-story “adventure center” play structure and studio for children, a community space with cafe, and an outdoor fitness area.

___________________________
SAT & SUN 10AM – 4PM / Self–guided tour / Guided tour every 30 min

_____________________________________________________________________________________

88 IS ARCHITECTURE | OH! SAN DIEGO HUB
5645 La Jolla Boulevard
Built, 1951

Formerly a retail storefront, this building now houses IS Architecture, an award-winning firm specializing in historic restoration and custom residential architecture. The two side-by-side storefronts provide employees with a shared open plan space for collaboration and more private areas to retreat to for focused work. The firm’s passion for historic preservation can be seen in the carefully-crafted design of the office, featuring an eclectic mix of contemporary and historic fixtures, such as a Danish modern light and repurposed doors from Egypt.

___________________________
SAT & SUN 10AM – 4PM / Self–guided tour 

_____________________________________________________________________________________

90 J. CRAIG VENTER INSTITUTE
4120 Capricorn Lane
ZGF Architects, 2013

J. Craig Venter Institute (JCVI), is a leader in genomic research, with a commitment to environmental stewardship. The architecture of this 44,000 SF, three-story laboratory and research facility, is a direct response to the client’s challenge that a building should generate more energy than it consumes. The LEED Platinum-certified building contains some of the most innovative water conservation and energy-efficient systems available and serves as a model for sustainable research buildings worldwide. It also houses the offices of at least one Nobel Prize winner.

___________________________
SAT 10AM – 3PM / Guided tour every hour / Reservation required / 16 and over only / Park in garage and enter via doors in garage

_____________________________________________________________________________________

91 LA JOLLA HISTORICAL SOCIETY | OH! SAN DIEGO HUB
780 Prospect Street
Built 1904 / Irving J. Gill, 1909 / IS Architecture, 2013

Housed in Wisteria Cottage, a fine example of vernacular architecture of early La Jolla, the Society serves as a popular resource and gathering place where residents and visitors explore history, art, ideas, and culture. Over the years, the simple structure has served as a guest house, a school and a bookstore, with additions by Master Architect, Irving Gill. The surrounding garden terraces with cobblestone walls feature the newly installed Venturi Pergola and Garden. The interior of the former house has been adaptively reused for exhibition space. It will feature Tangible Memories: Recollections of La Jolla Pioneer Women, a show about the life and history of early 20th-century women, artistically interpreted by female contemporary artists.

___________________________
SAT & SUN 10AM – 4PM / Self–guided tour 

_____________________________________________________________________________________

92 LA JOLLA RECREATION CENTER
615 Prospect Street
Irving J. Gill, 1915

Originally called the La Jolla Playground and Community House and dedicated to the children of San Diego, it was commissioned by noted philanthropist Ellen Browning Scripps. The tilt-up concrete construction creating Gill’s signature arched arcade, was considered innovative for its time and became a hallmark feature of his work. A bench dedicated in 1926 to Miss Scripps, with a bas relief of children playing and an inscription by Robert Louis Stevenson, is the work of artist J.T. Porter, who also created a bronze statue of a child nearby.

___________________________
SAT & SUN 10AM – 1PM / Self–guided tour

_____________________________________________________________________________________

93 LA JOLLA WOMAN’S CLUB
7791 Draper Avenue
Irving J. Gill, 1914

Like the La Jolla Recreation Center, the Woman’s Club was commissioned by Miss Scripps and employed Gill’s innovative tilt-up concrete construction. This prominently sited building with its clean lines and white plaster walls is enhanced by the series of pergolas, porches, courtyards and gardens that surround it. Gill’s trademark arches sit side-by-side with the simple, classic columns of the pergola and cast interesting shadows on the simple building mass. The spaces inside and out, evoke tranquility and purpose. In 2017, the club won the coveted Legacy Award from the San Diego Chapter of the AIA, who called the LJWC “the jewel in the crown of Irving Gill’s work.”

___________________________

SAT & SUN 10AM – 1PM / Guided tour every 30 min (last tour at 12:30)

_____________________________________________________________________________________

94 LA VALENCIA HOTEL AND SPA
1132 Prospect Street
Reginald Johnson, 1926

For over nine decades, La Jolla’s Pink Lady has elegantly graced the seaside bluffs in the heart of the Village. The architect conceived a Mediterranean palace of pink stucco and terracotta tile, overlooking lush, terraced gardens and the sea beyond. Exquisite details are throughout the property, including mosaic fountains, Spanish tiled steps, hand-painted ceilings, and elaborate ironwork. Over the years, this storied hotel has served as a hideaway for Hollywood luminaries, from Chaplin to Pickford to Garbo. Irving Gill’s adjacent Hotel Cabrillo was integrated as the west wing of the hotel in 1956.

___________________________
SAT & SUN 10AM – 4PM / Self–guided tour

_____________________________________________________________________________________

95 LUCE ET STUDIO ARCHITECTS
5070 Santa Fe Street, Suite A

Practicing at the intersection of architecture, art, and design, the studio’s work spans multiple scales from regional masterplans to custom furniture. By continuously exploring and seeking a solution that is specific to the problem, the studio’s custom design, thoughtful use of materials and attention to the smallest of details is evident in their workplace. Learn more about current projects such as the transformation of Mingei International Museum, Extraordinary Desserts at the Louie, and a private residence in Manhattan.

___________________________
SAT & SUN 1PM – 4PM / Self–guided tour / Guided tour every 30 min

_____________________________________________________________________________________

96 QUINT GALLERY
5171 Santa Fe Street, Suite H

This industrial gallery space has presented over 250 exhibitions during its 37 years of business. The gallery consists of 7 spaces exhibiting contemporary art by emerging, mid-career, and established artists. Past exhibitions by well-known artists Kelsey Brookes, Gisela Colon, Robert Irwin, Ryan McGinness and many more have raised the bar for contemporary art in San Diego. When Mark Quint took over this space in 2016, he completely rebuilt the interiors and transformed the spaces to accommodate his vision for the gallery.

___________________________
SAT & SUN 10AM – 4PM / Self–guided tour

_____________________________________________________________________________________

97 REBA | LA JOLLA REAL ESTATE BROKERS ASSOCIATION
908 Kline Street
Henry Hester, 1964

Designed specifically as a meeting space for the La Jolla Real Estate Brokers Association (REBA), the architecture’s mid-century modern lines are enhanced by the textural quality of the stacked masonry walls and the glamour of the book-matched polished marble slabs on the front façade. Wide planes of glass oriented to the entry courtyard, allow for the integration of indoor and outdoor spaces, while protecting them from the street.

___________________________
SAT & SUN 10AM – 4PM / Self–guided tour

_____________________________________________________________________________________

98 SHEPHERD FIREHOUSE YMCA
7877 Herschel Avenue
Harold Abrams, 1936 / Trip Bennett III, 2015

Fire Station Engine Company 13 began life as much more than a fire station. Simultaneously, it also housed La Jolla’s first city hall, a police station, a hospital room, and the water department until 1976. The City of San Diego Historical Landmark was designed in the Spanish-Mission Revival style for the Works Progress Administration. The building remained unused for about a decade until the YMCA leased it from the City in the 1980s. The most recent renovation restored the firehouse’s exterior and added modern metallic finishes that contrast with the historical building’s façade.

___________________________
SAT & SUN 10AM – 4PM / Guided tour every 30 min

_____________________________________________________________________________________

99 ST. JAMES BY-THE-SEA EPISCOPAL CHURCH
743 Prospect Street
Louis J. Gill, 1929 / Restoration, 2014

Like other important structures in La Jolla, this church has a strong connection to the Browning Scripps family. Eliza Virginia Scripps was instrumental in the founding of a church on this site in 1909. In 1928, Ellen Browning Scripps laid the cornerstone of the bell tower in memory of her beloved half-sister, Eliza Virginia. She selected the nephew of established architect Irving Gill to design the structure. He drew his inspiration for the iconic tower from the Campo Florida church in Mexico City. Today, the richly decorated Chimes Tower houses a working set of tubular bells and a newly renovated art gallery. The interior features a rugged wood beam ceiling.

___________________________
SAT 10AM – 4PM & SUN 11:15AM – 4PM / Self–guided tour / Guided tour every 30 min / Enter via front doors of church

_____________________________________________________________________________________

100 THE SALK INSTITUTE
10010 North Torrey Pines Road
Louis I. Kahn, 1965

The Salk Institute was established in 1960 by Jonas Salk, MD, developer of the first safe and effective polio vaccine. Salk envisioned spacious, unobstructed laboratory spaces that could be adapted to the ever-changing needs of science, with building materials that were simple, strong, durable, and as maintenance-free as possible. The result: two mirror-image six-story structures, constructed of concrete, teak, lead, glass and steel, flanking a grand courtyard. Three floors house laboratories with the level directly above each of them providing free access to their systems and utilities. Towers jutting into the courtyard house study spaces for senior faculty.
The monumentality of world-renowned architect Louis Kahn’s vision is particularly felt in the open courtyard of travertine marble, bisected by a ribbon of water which leads your eye to the ocean beyond. In 1992, the Salk received a 25-Year Award from the American Institute of Architects (AIA) and was featured in the AIA exhibit Structures of Our Time: 31 Buildings That Changed Modern Life. The Salk Institute has been described by many as the single most significant architectural site in San Diego.

___________________________
SAT & SUN 10AM – 1PM / Self–guided tour with docent stations / Access to plaza level only / Reservation required / SATURDAY TOURS / SUNDAY TOURS

_____________________________________________________________________________________

101 WARWICK’S
7812 Girard Avenue
Built 1918

Established in 1896, Warwick’s is the oldest family-owned and operated bookstore in the United States. Known for its highly curated selection of books, including architecture and design books, eclectic gifts and jewelry, as well as fine stationery and office supplies, Warwick’s has the vibe of a community marketplace. Over the years, the events program has grown tremendously and the store is a popular place for authors to speak. Enjoy a game of chess on the giant chess board in front of the store.

___________________________
SAT & SUN 10AM – 4PM / Self–guided tour 

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Upcoming Events

03/23
10am - 4pm
OH! San Diego 2019
Learn More

Contact Us

San Diego Architectural Foundation

Phone
619.232.1385

Email
info@sdarchitecture.org

Address
P.O. Box 122228
San Diego, CA 92112-2228
Federal Tax ID: 95-3513927

Sign Up

Stay on top of your Architectural news

About
San Diego Architectural Foundation is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization dedicated to education and promotion of outstanding architecture, planning and urban design throughout the San Diego region.

Get in the Mix